Roasted Beet and Grilled Zucchini Sandwich with Lemon Dill Aioli

This sandwich was inspired by one of my favorite sandwiches at a local restaurant called Watercourse. The Champ, as this sandwich is known, is a fresh, creamy and luscious sammich. The Champ has the perfect balance of sweet and savory, creamy and crunchy. Can you tell I am in love with this sandwich?

This was my first attempt at making my own focaccia. I am terrible with dough :/ But practice make perfect right? My focaccia didn’t turn out as well as I had hoped. I think my problem was I didn’t activate my yeast properly (water wasn’t warm enough). Though my bread was a bit flat/dense it still tasted great. I didn’t include the recipe for the focaccia in this post. I want to try it again and make sure it was just user error and not a problem with the recipe.

All in all my dupe of The Champ turned out great! It hit all the right notes for me. The beets were sweet and perfectly balanced out by the zucchini. The aioli cut through the sweet and rounded out the flavors. The sprouts and red onion added some crunch. And having fresh, warm, soft bread didn’t hurt.

This is a perfect summer lunch or dinner. It does take a bit of time to cook, but it is well worth it. You can prepare most of the elements ahead of time and just assemble the sandwich before serving. I also think this sandwich would be great for a picnic. Just remember some napkins. I am pretty sure if a sandwich isn’t a little bit messy, you aren’t doing something right.

Roasted Beet and Grilled Zucchini Sandwich with Lemon Dill Aioli

Beets:

  • 3 medium beets (about 1 1/2 pounds)
  • Salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper

Heat the oven to 375°F and arrange a rack in the middle. Rinse the beets and trim off any leafy tops. Wrap beets completely in aluminum foil and place in the oven. Roast until tender and easily pierced with a knife, about 1 to 1 1/2 hours. Remove from the oven and let cool.

When the beets are cool enough to handle, peel using a paring knife or by pushing the skin with your fingers.

Slice the beets and season with salt and freshly ground black pepper. Make sure to wash your hands well after handling so they don’t get stained.

Zucchini:

  • 1 large zucchini, sliced long ways
  • spray oil
Heat skillet to medium heat. Spray skillet with oil. Place zucchini in a single layer on pan. Brown on both sides.

Lemon Dill Aioli: (veganized version of Tasty Kitchen’s aioli)

  • 1/2 cup vegan mayonnaise
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 whole scallion, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons capers, minced
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon fresh dill, chopped
  • 1 pinch sea salt
  • 1 pinch pepper

Combine all ingredients to a bowl and whisk. Smooth out any clumps from the mayo.

*Mine ended up being a bit thinner than I would have liked for a sandwich. So I would reduce the amount of lemon juice and add some lemon zest.

Sandwich:

  • 1 loaf focaccia, sliced (I used a homemade whole wheat thyme focaccia)
  • Alfalfa sprouts
  • 1/4 red onion, thinly sliced

Take a piece of focaccia and spread aioli on it. Then top with beets, zucchini, red onion and sprouts. You can add a bit more aioli if you would like. Then close up the sandwich and enjoy!

If you give this sandwich a try I would love to know how it came out and what you think about it.

7 responses

Leave a Reply

