Vegan Indian Spiced Nuts

I was doing some research yesterday about being vegan and found an interesting video talking about how omegas are really good for brain and nerve function. The lady in the video was explaining if you have been more forgetful than normal or feeling hazy, this could be a sign you need more omegas in your diet. I have defiantly noticed an increase in feeling hazy and being forgetful the last couple months (maybe I am just getting old). It dawned on me that I might be needing more omegas in my diet, even before turning vegetarian.

A good vegetarian/vegan source of omegas are nuts and seeds. In an effort to get more omegas in my diet I decided a spiced nut mix was the way to go. Looked up a couple recipes for vegan spiced nuts and kinda came up with my own version. This is super quick and easy recipe to make. Spiced nuts make a great healthy snack for work or when you are on the go.
Since I love to eat and cook Indian food; I have many of the spices required for this type of food just sitting in my cabinet. So I grabbed all of my Indian spices and kind of came up with a spice mix that roughly had the same proportions as when I used to make Chicken Tikka Masala. Here is what I came up with:

Indian Spiced Nuts

  • 1 cup whole raw almonds (I buy my nuts in the bulk section, much cheaper)
  • 1 cup raw mixed nuts
  • 2 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon garlic power
  • 1 teaspoon onion power
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cayenne pepper, optional (I am a wuss, so I just put in a pinch)
Preheat oven to 350. Place nuts in small bowl and coat lightly with oil. Toss to coat evenly.
Add spices and toss again to blend thoroughly.
Spread nuts on baking sheet (I line the baking sheet with aluminum foil for easy clean up) and roast about 15 minutes, until fragrant. Store in airtight container.
One thought on “Vegan Indian Spiced Nuts

Leave a Reply

