Cheez-It biscuits and movie night

A group of my friends and I, got together last night for movie night. We watched an amazingly horrible movie called Lethal Force. I highly recommend it if you are into the old blaxploitation films, or getting together with a group of friends to watch a movie. It’s a perfect parody of bad martial arts movies. It embraces all the things that make bad martial arts movies so fun to watch.

My friends all knew I had gone vegetarian and made stuff that I could eat, which was super awesome of them. I wanted to make sure and bring something that everyone could enjoy.

After a couple quick google searches, I found the recipe for these biscuits. I already had all the ingredients I needed to make these at home, which was a big bonus. I set the butter out on the counter when I got home. Took the dog for a walk and did a couple other things around the house. With about an hour before movie night started, I figured it was probably time to start cooking.

In about 40 minutes I whipped these up, this includes baking 3 batches (I doubled the recipe). Really quick and easy last minute appetizer for movie night or just having friends over.

The real name for the biscuits are Cheese Diablo Wafers. But I changed the name because they taste a lot like Cheez-Its to me and everyone last night seemed to agree.

Side note: if there are some meat eaters out there reading this, I think these would be awesome with some bacon crumbled up in them. I suppose you could just use fake bacon too (duh Heather). Here is my modified Cheez-It biscuits recipe:

Cheez-It Biscuits

Based off the recipe by yumsugar

  • 1/2 pound shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) salted butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and set aside.

In a large bowl mix all of the ingredients together by hand, until everything is well incorporated and forms into a dough.

Roll pieces of dough into 1 inch balls and line evenly on baking sheet.

Bake for about 10 minutes or until they have flattened out some and are brown around the edges. Let them cool on the pan or a baking rack and store in a air tight container.

*Be careful if you are baking more than one batch (I doubled the recipe). Maybe it was just my oven, but after the first batch, I only needed to leave them in for 8 minutes.

Thinking I might be able to make these vegan, so if you are interested let me know and I will keep you up to date.

3 thoughts on “Cheez-It biscuits and movie night

Leave a Reply

