Review on Gardein Home Style Beefless Tips

So I had a rough weekend. And when it came to having something to eat for lunch today, I didn’t feel like cooking. So I opted to try some more of the meatless meats. Grabbed the Gardein Home Style Beefless Tips and a bag of frozen cilantro lime rice.

A bit more about the Gardein Brand. All of their “meats” are certified vegan by Vegan Action. They  are “committed to producing foods that people just love to eat, are good for you and are light on the planet.” I found their products at Target, not sure where else they are available. But there is more info about where you can purchase their products on their site www.gardein.com.

I quickly browned up the “beef” and microwaved the rice. And boom! Instant lunch. Of course I couldn’t wait until today to try it, so I took a couple bites. I was pleasantly surprised. They had a pretty good beefy flavor as well as smelling really yummy. I have noticed with some fake meats can smell a little plastic-y sometimes, at least to me. The combo of the beefless beef and the cilantro lime rice kinda reminds me of a Chipotle burrito bowl. So this could be a good option for a vegan missing Chipotle.

All that being said my only complaint would be the texture. It was a bit too soft for me. It didn’t really have the meat like texture I was looking for. I suppose this could be a good or bad thing depending on your taste in texture. I just felt like it blended in a bit too much with the rice. But maybe I just needed to brown the “meat” a bit longer.

Overall defiantly a good purchase. I will most likely buy this again and experiment. With the good meaty flavor and smell, I see this being a great replacement for beef. I am also looking forward to trying some of Gardein’s other “meat” products. I am sure the buffalo wings will be great to satisfy any cravings for wings I might have. Hope this was helpful for those of you that might be thinking about trying this product.

As always, if you give this product a try, let me know what you think. And if there are any products you would like me to try, please let me know!

4 thoughts on “Review on Gardein Home Style Beefless Tips

Leave a Reply

