Peanut butter and chocolate? Count me in

Peanut butter and chocolate is one of my favorite combos. So when another movie night came around I was looking for something sweet, quick and easy that I could make in a hurry after work. When I saw the recipe for this, I fell in love with the idea of vegan chocolate and peanut butter cookies. And I had all the ingredients minus one thing at home!

I was able to make about 2 dozen cookies in less than an hour including baking time. The original recipe has you make a peanut butter filling, but because of my time constrains and missing one ingredient I cut out the peanut butter filling and just used plain old peanut butter. Which saved me from having to use 3 cups of sugar and the cookies ended up being a big hit.

I enjoyed some of the cookies the next morning with a big glass of almond milk. Did I mention these are vegan? Yum. 🙂

Peanut Butter Chocolate Cookies

Based off the recipe by thedailygreen

  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 3 tablespoons almond milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup and 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

In a large mixing bowl, combine oil, sugar, maple syrup, nondairy milk, and vanilla and mix until smooth. Sift in flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt. Mix to form a moist dough.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

Scoop a generous tablespoon of chocolate dough, roll into a 1 in ball, and push small dent in the center. Place a small almond size amount of peanut butter in the center. Fold the sides of the chocolate dough up and around the peanut butter center and roll into a smooth ball between your palms.

Place the dough balls on lined baking sheets about 2 inches apart and bake for 10 minutes. Remove the sheet from the oven and let the cookies stand for 5 minutes before moving them to wire racks to complete cooling. Store cookies in tightly covered container. If desired, warm cookies in a microwave for 10 to 12 seconds before serving.

2 thoughts on “Peanut butter and chocolate? Count me in

Leave a Reply

