Tomato and Potato Curry

As you may or may not know, I am a lover of Indian food. Chicken Tikka Masala was one of my all time favorites. Since I am vegetarian/almost vegan now and can’t have meat, I decided to try and make my own vegan curry. In all honestly, I am not sure how authentic my recipe is, but I think it is really tasty.

I wrote this recipe out as I was making it, so forgive me if it isn’t the most well written. And of course let me know if anything is unclear or you have any questions. I would love to know what you think if you end up trying it. And Happy Valentines Day!

Tomato and Potato Curry

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 onion, finely diced
  • 4 red potatoes cut into bite size pieces (this can really be any size you want, you will just have to cook them accordingly)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon vandevi
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 3 tomatoes, diced
  • 1 14oz can coconut milk (I used light)
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric
  • sprinkle of cayenne pepper (or more to taste)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Heat a non-stick skillet over medium heat and add olive oil. Saute onions and potatoes until potatoes are browned. Add water and partly cover pan until potatoes are cooked through. (I only included this step because my potatoes were not cooking fast enough for my liking, you could probably just cook them through without this step. Just watch them closely so they do not burn) If there is any liquid left over after potatoes are cooked through remove lid and let water evaporate.

Add the cumin, vandevi, paprika, and garlic powder to the potatoes and let spices toast a bit until everything becomes fragrant. Then add in tomatoes, chili powder, turmeric, and cayenne pepper. Let this mixture cook for about 5-7 minutes or until tomatoes start to break down.

Stir in coconut milk and season with salt and pepper. Let mixture come to a simmer. Serve over rice and enjoy. My sauce was a bit runny for my taste. I would suggest turning down the heat and letting the curry simmer for a couple minutes until it thickens slightly.

Leave a Reply

