Lemon Bars!

Sorry about the picture. I didn’t end up taking a picture of mine. :/

This is the recipe I used for dessert for Valentine’s Day. I got this recipe from my Mother. She used to the lemon bars every year for Christmas gift baskets. I would look forward to Christmas for the lemon bars and cinnamon bread (I will share that recipe soon). The lemon bars are super delicious. I could probably sit down and eat a whole pan. Mmmm.

I am thinking of trying to veganize this recipe. Let me know if you are interested in my results.

Lemon Bars

Crust:

  • 1 1/3 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup water

Filling:

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

For the crust mix together flour, butter and water until crumbly. Press into a 8 x 8 pan. And bake for 15-20 minutes or until lightly browned.

While crust bakes prepare filling. In a mixer, combine sugar, eggs, flour, lemon juice, and baking powder until well mixed.

When crust is done cooking, pour filling over hot crust and put back in the oven and bake for 18-20 minutes or until filling is set.

Let cool, and dust with powder sugar.

*I often double this recipe and bake in a 9 x 13 pan.

Leave a Reply

