Baked Tofu: You will never want regular tofu again

I know you are thinking outrageous claims! But after making and trying this recipe last night, I am not sure I can ever go back to “regular” tofu again. It has a great texture (for me anyways) and it’s full of flavor. Plus it is vegan.

The hardest part of this recipe, is having the whole house smell delicous for like 3 hours and not getting to try any of it until after it’s done. I even burnt my tongue a little because I couldn’t wait for it to cool.

Once again I got this recipe from The Vegan Zombie. I had watched the video for this and wanted to try it, but I wasn’t sure what I was going to use the tofu in. So I held off until I found a pasta recipe that called for baked tofu (recipe for that coming soon!). But know, you can add this tofu to any recipe you would like.

Baked Tofu

Based off the recipe by The Vegan Zombie

  • 1 block extra firm tofu
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1/4 cup onion
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 2 teaspoons liquid smoke
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 bay leaves

Start by draining the tofu. I do this by pouring out the excess liquid from the package. Then I place the tofu in a colander for 10-15 minutes. After, sandwich the tofu between 2 plates, with a paper towel underneath the tofu, for about an hour.

In a bowl combine vegetable broth, onion, garlic, salt, sugar, liquid smoke and olive oil, and whisk together. Cut tofu in half and add to marinade, cover. Place in refrigerator. Let tofu marinade overnight or make marinade in the morning and let the tofu marinade all day while you are at work.

Place tofu in a standard loaf pan and pour in marinade until tofu is covered. Add bay leaves. And bake in a 350 degree oven for 2 1/2 to 3 hours or until all the marinade is completely absorbed.

You want to flip tofu when marinade is absorbed about halfway. At this point you want to continue to cook the tofu, checking it every 15-20 mins to make sure the tofu doesn’t burn.

Let cool slightly and use in any recipe you want.

3 thoughts on “Baked Tofu: You will never want regular tofu again

  1. Pingback: Wholewheat Spaghetti with Roasted Cauliflower and Smoked Tofu | veggie4ayear

Leave a Reply

