Quinoa, White Bean And Kale Stew

Picture from VeganMeals.com

So lately I had noticed I was always feeling tired. I am normally a night person. But in the past couple weeks I have been exhausted by 8pm. I thought it might have just been because I had a lot on my plate and was over stressed. But when the fatigue became worse, I started to wonder if something was wrong.

I know some common issues with vegetarians/vegans can be protein and iron deficiencies. I was pretty sure I was getting a good amount of protein, but I realized I probably wasn’t getting enough iron in my diet. I looked up symptoms for iron deficiency and many of the symptoms fit. I decided to bump up my iron levels both with a multi-vitamin (I should have been taking this anyways) and introducing more dark leafy greens into my diet. I have since felt much, much better.

This just reinforces that listening to your body can be really important to your health. When you just aren’t feeling right maybe it is time to look at your diet or time to go see your doctor. I do plan on going to the doctor soon to get my blood tested to make sure I can getting all the vitamins and minerals I need.

This recipe is a delicious way to get in some protein and iron.

Disclaimer: If you are feeling like something is wrong, I encourage you to go to the doctor. Your health is invaluable. 

Quinoa, White Bean And Kale Stew

Based on a recipe by VeganMeals.com

  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 2 cups thinly sliced leeks
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 large carrot, diced medium
  • 1 medium parsnip, peeled and diced
  • 8 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 1/2 lbs Yukon gold potatoes, diced medium
  • 1 cup dry quinoa
  • 15oz can white beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 bunch kale, washed, rough stems removed and torn into bit sized pieces

Herb blend:

  • 1/2 teaspoon fennel seed (if you are not a big fan of fennel, I would replace this with another herb, the leftovers can gain an intensified fennel flavor)
  • 1 teaspoon dried marjoram
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • black pepper, to taste

Preheat a 4 quart soup pot to medium heat.

Sautee the leeks, garlic and a bit of salt, for three minutes. Add the parsnip, carrot and the herb blend and turn the heat up higher and sauté for 5 seconds.

Add the quinoa, potatoes and the vegetable broth and bring to a boil. Lower the heat to medium and cook for fifteen minutes until the potatoes and the quinoa become tender.

Add the beans and the kale, stirring frequently. Cover & simmer on low temperature for five minutes. Check for salt level and enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Quinoa, White Bean And Kale Stew

Leave a Reply

