“Pigs” in a Blanket and Creamy Dill Potato Salad

So here in Colorado we have been having some summer like weather. Summer weather always makes me feel kinda nostalgic. I start to remember summers running around the mountains, picnics and BBQs. One of the best summer side dishes is a good potato salad. When I found this recipe for potato salad, my mouth started to water.

When trying to come up with something to have with the potato salad, I remembered having pigs in a blanket on picnics. So I decided to try and make my own adult vegan version of pigs in a blanket. Here is what I came up with:

Creamy Dill Potato Salad

Based on a recipe by Healthy. Happy. Life

  • 1 lb mini potatoes, halved/quartered
  • 1 tablespoons garlic powder
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 4 tablespoons vegan mayo, Vegenaise
  • 2 tablespoons spicy/Dijon mustard
  • 6-8 scallions, chopped
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 cup fresh dill, chopped (stems and fronds)
  • sprinkle of cayenne or more to taste
  • fresh black pepper and sea salt, to taste

Prep all your ingredients. Scrub your potatoes well. Halve and quarter them. Smaller potato bits will cook faster.

Bring salted cold water and potatoes to a boil. Cook until tender – do not over cook or you will end up with more of a “mashed” potato salad. I like to rinse my cooked potatoes in cold water to halt cooking.

Toss all the ingredients into the warm potatoes – and then chill until ready to serve. Doing this will allow the flavors to marinade nicely, it will also  make your creamy potato salad sauce a bit thinner.

Chill your salad until ready to be served – or serve warm. Drizzle with a bit of good olive oil and fresh black pepper over top.

“Pigs” in a Blanket

  • vegan pizza dough
  • 2 pkgs Field Roast Grain Meat Sausages (I used Smoked Apple Sage and Mexican Chipotle)
  • 1 1/2 cups baby spinach
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • vegan miso mayo or dijon mustard, for dipping

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Remove sausages from packaging and cut in half. Set aside.

Flatten out pizza dough and cut into 16 even size pieces. Take one piece of dough and place a layer of spinach in the center and top with a piece of sausage. Wrap dough around spinach and sausage. Seal seam of dough with a little bit of water.

Place on a lined baking sheet, seem side down. Brush each one with olive oil and sprinkle with a little salt.

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until dough is cooked and golden brown.

Serve with a little bit of miso mayo or dijon mustard on the side.

I just wanted to do a mini review on these sausages because I liked them so much. Before going vegetarian I had a huge love for chicken apple sausages. I would try and work them into anything I was cooking. Or I would just buy a couple, cook them and eat them on their own. Well the Field Roast Smoked Apple Sage sausages are the closest thing I have found to my beloved chicken apple sausages. They are packed full of flavor and have a pleasing, non-mushy texture.

As you all may or may not know, I am kind of a wuss when it comes to spicy food. I think the Field Roast Mexican Chipotle sausages are spicy! Usually when something has hot & spicy on the label, I take it with a grain of salt. Often times things that are labeled hot & spicy are something I can easily handle. Well these babies kicked this girls butt.

My boyfriend was surprised by the heat of them also, but he liked them. Unlike me, Rob isn’t a heat/spice wuss. They do have a good flavor before the heat sets in. I am not saying any of this to deter you from getting these. But if you are a heat wuss like me, this flavor might not be the best choice for you.

Overall the Field Roast sausages are delicious and packed full a flavor. I paid about $4.99 a package and I feel they are worth that price. I will defiantly be using these again.

As always, if you try any of these recipes I would love to hear your feedback. And if you have any questions please feel free to ask.

Leave a Reply

