Vegan Sushi

At a recent family gathering my sister brought some vegetarian sushi. It was so good that it inspired me to make my own.

This was my first time making sushi at home. Admittedly I was a bit nervous. I have never had much success with making rice. I have tried again and again, with less than perfect results. I finally decided I would just buy a rice cooker. My rice cooker is easily one of my most used kitchen appliances, yielding near perfect results every time.

Though I was armed with my rice cooker, I was still a bit nervous about making sushi rice. My sister had explained to me how hard it can be to make and all my online research warned of some of the same concerns. Because I was nervous, I researched and researched to find a recipe for higher altitude because I know that higher altitude can effect the amount of water you need to put in to cook rice. I finally found one, and turns out sushi rice isn’t really so hard to make after all. Just takes a bit of time, so do not fear!

Sushi is very versitile. You can put in just about anything you like or think will taste good in it. Not to mention that sushi can be super healthy.

While sushi can take a bit of time to make, it is well worth it. You can easily make some leftovers and have a quick lunch or dinner in a hurry, or just have a fun healthy snack waiting for you. This recipe may be a bit long, as I am going to include reference videos and sites, but be assured this is a task you can accomplish successfully. Happy eating!

Vegan Sushi

Sushi Rice (recipe for this taken from Sushi at Home article) 
  • 2 cups short-grain sushi rice
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/8 cup seasoned rice vinegar
  • 2 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Rinse the rice with water until the water runs clear (I had to wash about 5 times). Spread rinsed rice on a plate or sheet pan and allow to dry for about one hour.

Add rice and water to rice cooker. Cook until done. Then transfer to a wooden bowl (I didn’t have one, so I just used a plastic bowl). Use a wooden spoon or spatula to break up chunks of rice to allow steam to escape and stop the cooking process.

In a small bowl or glass measuring cup, dissolve the salt and sugar in the rice vinegar. Drizzle over the rice, then use a wooden spoon to toss and mix the rice thoroughly, breaking up any chunks and ensuring that all rice is evenly coated with vinegar solution.

This video is helpful to see how to properly mix up the vinegar mixture and rice. Mixing starts at about 4:25.

Cover the bowl with a damp cloth and allow to sit at room temperature until you’re ready to use it. Do not refrigerate rice. The vinegar acts as a preservative, so rice will not spoil, even if left out for several hours.

When the rice is done, and you’re ready to roll.

Sushi

  • nori sheets
  • sushi rice
  • sesame seeds
  • hemp seeds
  • 1 carrot, thinly sliced (this can easily be accomplished by using a vegetable peeler and then cutting those into smaller strips)
  • 1 zucchini, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup water chestnuts, thinly sliced
  • small bunch green onions, white part removed and cut in half
  • 1 avacado, pit and skin removed
  • 1 cup edamame, shelled and steamed
  • 1/4 teaspoon wasbi paste or more to taste
  • So Good! Miso Mayo Original (or any other flavor if you choose)
Make sure all ingredients are prepped and ready for assembly.
Place avocado, edamame and wasabi in the food processor. Pulse food processor until ingredients form a paste. This process may require a bit of water.
Place one sheet of nori on a sushi mat, shiny side down. Place some rice onto lower side of the nori. Wet hands and break up rice so it is evenly distributed over the nori, but be careful to leave about 3/4 of an inch free from rice on top end. Wet hands again, if needed and press rice down lightly so you get the nori pretty much covered with rice.
Sprinkle rice lightly with sesame and hemp seeds. Then place a thin layer of carrots, zucchini, water chestnuts, green onion, and a strip of the avocado edamame paste in the middle of the rice.
Here is the video I used for referance. The placement on the rice and rolling start at about 1:56.
If you do not have a sushi mat and do not wanna buy one you can use foil, parchment paper or a kitchen towel.
Once rolls are made, let them sit for a couple minutes. Wet knife and remove ends. Slice your rolls into pieces. Top each slice with a little bit of miso mayo and serve with your favorite soy sauce and a little bit of wasabi paste.
2 thoughts on “Vegan Sushi

  1. I don’t like fish, so I find myself inadvertently making “vegan” sushi all the time—my favorite is cucumber matchsticks with a soy/sesame/rice-vinegar sauce.

Leave a Reply

