“Egg” Salad Sandwich

Picture from Pickles & Honey. I couldn't get mine to turn out nearly as beautiful.

I have to admit I am not a fan of egg salad. I have a hard time eating cold eggs. I am sure you are wondering then why on earth did I decide to make a mock egg salad sandwich? The answer to that question is simply, I wanted to try something new. I also thought it would be a good addition to a salad to make it more filling.

I have to say I am glad that I tried this recipe. I was cool and creamy, and totally hit the spot with all the warm days we have been having in Colorado lately. I added a couple slices of pickle to mine and put it over a romain salad.

This is light lunch or dinner idea. And it doesn’t have the egg-y smell that I never liked about egg salad. I didn’t modify this recipe much, except I forgot to grab some fresh parsley at the store. Which I am sure would have made this dish taste even better. Hopefully you won’t be as absent minded as myself when you make this.

“Egg” Salad Sandwich

Based on a recipe by Pickles & Honey

  • 1 Block Extra Firm Tofu
  • 1/2 cup vegan mayonaise
  • 1/2 cup carrots, grated
  • 1/2 cup celery, finely diced
  • 1/4 cup red onion, finely diced
  • 1/4 cup Olives, sliced (use your favorite type, or substitute with pickles or anything else you like)
  • 3 tablespoons fresh parsley, finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • 1 tablespoon dijon mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon Turmeric
  • sprinkle cayenne (optional)
  • salt & pepper to taste

Drain the tofu (no need to press it, just pour out the excess water) and place it in a large bowl.

Using a fork or clean hands, break up the tofu until it resembles the consistency of egg salad. Add all of the remaining ingredients, and mix until they are well-incorporated.

Add salt and pepper to taste.

Enjoy as a sandwich or on top of some chopped romaine.

The tofu salad can be stored in the fridge for up to 5 days.

3 thoughts on ““Egg” Salad Sandwich

Leave a Reply

