Orange Gingerbread “Bundt” Cakes

Since the beginning of the year I have been wanting to get into more vegan baking. I have always enjoyed the process of making cute and fun cupcakes. These were made with a giant/large muffin tin because I couldn’t find a mini bundt cake pan anywhere locally. Regardless of their shape they turned out wonderfully. They had a firm but chewy outside and a moist and soft inside. At first you are hit with the ginger but shortly after an almost floral orange flavor comes into play. I added my own orange cream cheese frosting to the top. I had some in the freezer from a previous cupcake baking session.

I modified this recipe in a couple places. First off I didn’t use gluten free flour (had a hard time finding that in my budget). I also added orange zest and juice. The orignal recipe had orange in the title, but I didn’t see any orange in the recipe (maybe I just can’t read). There is also a frosting/topping in the pictures and I didn’t see a recipe or link for that anywhere. So I improvised. And I was very happy with the results. Here is my modified recipe:

Orange Gingerbread “Bundt” Cakes

Based on a recipe by pure2raw

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup molasses
  • 1 orange, zested and juiced
  • hot water
  • 1/4 cup oil (I used coconut oil)

Pre-heat oven 325 degrees

Mix flour with baking soda and spices, set aside.

Juice orange in a measuring cup and fill remaining space with hot water until you have 2/3 cups orange juice/water mixture.

In a small sauce pan heat up sugar, oil, molasses and orange juice/water mixture. Wait until coconut oil is melted or until ingredients are well combine. This process breaks up the molasses, making it easier to work with. Now stir into your flour mixture.

Scoop gingerbread cake batter into lightly greased bundt pans or large muffin tin.

Bake for about 20 minutes (mine took about 22 mins) or until you can stick a toothpick in the middle and it should come out clean.

Let cool in pan for about 10 minutes then transfer to a baking rack to cool. Once completely cooled, frost and serve.

Vegan Orange Cream Cheese Frosting

Based on a recipe by About.com

  • 8 ounces (1 tub) dairy-free cream cheese, such as Tofutti
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) dairy-free soy margarine, such as Earth Balance
  • 1/2 t. orange extract (I just used orange juice)
  • 3 3/4- 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 T. finely chopped orange zest

In a large mixing bowl using an electric hand-mixer, cream together the dairy-free cream cheese and dairy-free soy margarine until fluffy. Add the orange extract and beat until combined.

Gradually, about 1/2 cup at a time, beat in the powdered sugar until the mixture is creamy and smooth (I think I only used about 2 cups of sugar. The important thing here is to get your frosting the texture and thickness you want i). Add the orange zest and beat until combined.

6 thoughts on “Orange Gingerbread “Bundt” Cakes

  1. How fun! It’s funny- I’m totally baking challenged, and one of the only things I can actually bake are bundt cakes. I wonder why that is…? This one looks really yummy!

    • I am a pretty good baker. But I am slightly learning challenged when it comes to making things with dough. Although the last time I made cinnamon rolls they turned out well. So maybe it is all in my head.

Leave a Reply

