Lime Cilantro Superfood Quinoa and Chipotle Tofu Tacos

I am a sucker for a taco. Wrap almost anything (besides meat, lol) in a corn or flour shell and I will enjoy it. I think this mostly stems from me liking to eat things with my hands (yes random info for you).

This recipe is really easy as long as you do all the prep work before you start cooking (which I like to do regardless). I really loved how the tofu came out. It had a ton of flavor, and really made these taco delish. The quinoa is also great on its own. The nutritional yeast gives it that cheesy flavor I am used to with my tacos.

These would be even better with some fresh salsa. I some how managed to forget my salsa at home this morning, so it is not pictured. The original recipe has you make an avocado and mango salsa, but I couldn’t find any ripe mangos at the store. So I opted to make my own fresh tomato salsa. If you would like the recipe for the salsa I made, just leave me a comment below.

Lime Cilantro Superfood Quinoa and Chipotle Tofu Tacos

Based on a recipe by Healthy.Happy.Life

Lime Cilantro Superfood Quinoa

  • 3 cups cooked fluffy quinoa (learn how to make quinoa here)
  • 1 cup chopped kale
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1 lime, squeezed + a bit of grated zest
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine black pepper
  • 1-2 tablespoon nutritional yeast
  • 4 tablespoon hemp seeds
  • salt to taste

Toss cooked quinoa with all the ingredients. Garnish with lime wedges.

Chipotle Tofu

  • 10 ounces extra firm tofu
  • 2 teaspoon agave syrup
  • chipotle powder (to taste)
  • salt to taste
  • squeeze of lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon liquid smoke
  • saute in 1-2 teaspoon olive oil (or other)

Cut block of tofu into 8 slices, then cut each of those slices in half. Then cut each of those sections into triangles. Squeeze out all surface water with paper towel. Saute for 1-2 minutes on each side – adding the spices, agave, liquid smoke and lime during the first part of the cooking process. Transfer to plate to cool.

Assembly

  • 8 taco shells (flour or corn)
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • fresh or jarred salsa

Warm shell until pliable and top with quinoa, tofu, avocado and salsa. Enjoy!

One thought on “Lime Cilantro Superfood Quinoa and Chipotle Tofu Tacos

Leave a Reply

