Virtual Vegan Potluck: I am making Strawberry Lemonade Cupcakes

Yay for potlucks! I am so excited to be apart of this Virtual Vegan Potluck!

This recipe was inspired by my friend Kevin. I love making creative cupcakes for my friends birthday, and since I owed Kevin some cupcakes for his birthday, I figured this was a perfect opportunity. Kevin likes strawberry lemonade. So I decided to turn strawberry lemonade into cupcakes. I thought a strawberry cake topped with a lemon glaze/icing would be the best plan.

The results were fabulous! The cupcakes were light and moist and tasted like actual strawberries. The icing had a fresh and vibrant lemon flavor. One bite of these cupcakes I was transported to a warm summer day; sitting by the pool sipping on strawberry lemonade. These cupcakes are a great sweet treat for someone’s birthday.

I hope everyone has had a great time at the virtual potluck. Coming up with ideas for this potluck was really fun. I hope to see you at the next potluck!

Strawberry Lemonade Cupcakes

Based on a recipes by Epicurean Vegan & About.com

Cupcakes

  • 1-3/4 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon white distilled vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 8 oz frozen or fresh strawberries, crushed or pureed
Preheat the oven to 350. Lightly grease or line a muffin pan with muffin cups.

Puree the strawberries in the food processor.

Mix the flour, baking soda, and sugar in a large bowl. In a small bowl, combine the oil, vinegar, and vanilla and strawberries. Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour the wet ingredients into it.ย Stir to combine, but donโ€™t overstir. Youโ€™ll be left with a light, fluffy batter and a thick batter.

Evenly fill the muffins cups with the batter.

Bake for 25-30 minutes. Remove from the oven and place onto a wire rack to cool.

Once cool, top with glaze/icing.

Glaze/icing

  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup margarine, softened
  • 2 tbsp soy milk
  • juice and zest from one lemon
With an electric mixer set at low speed, cream the sugar and margarine. Beat in the soy milk and lemon juice. Stir in the lemon rind.

19 thoughts on “Virtual Vegan Potluck: I am making Strawberry Lemonade Cupcakes

  1. I LOVE strawberry lemonades but making them into a cupcake is even more amazing..and vegan? Mind blowing-ly awesome!

  2. Wow! I can’t wait to make these cupcakes. What could be better than strawberries and lemonade? Genius! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

