Finally Vegan Green Chile recipe!

I asked on my Facebook page what kind of recipes you all wanted to see from me. And Greg requested a good green chile (Thanks Greg!). After some recipe searching, I found a recipe that sounded delicious and can easily be adjusted to you preference in spice/heat level. By changing up the type of peppers you use, you can change how spicy your chile will be. This recipe takes a little bit of time, but it is mostly just letting the green chile simmer.

I have to say this green chile was yummy! I made a more mild version of this chile but there was still a lot of depth of flavor. This green chile is perfect on its own or to smother a burrito with. I am planning on using it to make some enchiladas very soon.

I love getting requests because it helps me to expand my horizons and then I get to see what you guys like to cook and eat. If any of you have a request please let me know! I hope all enjoy this recipe! 🙂

Vegan Green Chile

Based on a recipe by Vegan Vanguard

  • 8-10 mild green chili peppers like mild hatch, poblano, or anaheim, washed and dried and whole (I used half poblano and half anaheim)
  • 3-6 medium or hot chili peppers like serrano, or jalapeno, washed and dried and whole
  • olive or safflower oil
  • 28 oz can of stewed tomatoes or fresh tomatoes, skins peeled and discarded and flesh minced
  • 1/2-1 yellow or white onion, diced
  • 2-4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 quarts of water (1 quart is 4 cups)
  • sea salt
  • 1 lb seitan
  • organic white unbleached flour

Place all peppers, mild and spicy, on a baking sheet in a single layer. Roast peppers under the broiler (set to high) until the skins are black and blistered, be careful not to puncture skin as juices will leak. Set blackened peppers aside or in brown paper bag to cool.

Using plastic gloves, under cool running water, peel the skin away from the peppers, de-stem and de-seed. Dice pepper flesh. *I highly recommend the gloves because I totally forgot to wear them and taking out my contacts that night was PAINFUL!

In a stockpot or large dutch oven, heat a small amount of oil and sauté onions, garlic, and a pinch of salt, until onions are translucent and beginning to brown. Add in peppers, tomatoes and water. Simmer for at least 1 hour, uncovered.

After chile has simmered for about 45 minutes, cut seitan into 1/2 inch chunks, and add to stockpot.

Dilute 2 tablespoons of flour in 1/4 cup of water and slowly stir into chile. Season chile with sea salt. If chile looks thick enough for your liking, serve. If chile seems a little watery, dilute flour 1 tablespoon at a time, and add to chile. Keep in mind that chile will thicken as it cools.

*Tomatillos may be used in place of tomatoes for a greener chile verde.

2 thoughts on “Finally Vegan Green Chile recipe!

  1. Pingback: Sweet Potato Black Bean Enchiladas | veggie4ayear

Leave a Reply

