Savory Oatmeal, what?

I am a big fan of many vegan cooking shows on Youtube. Lately I have been watching a lot of Heather’s channel, Healthy Vegan. She is a nutritionist and a home cook. She has a lot of super informative videos about vegan nutrition (and nutrition in general). Plus Heather comes up with a lot of delicious looking recipes. I was checking out some of her older videos and came across this recipe.

Since I am not a huge fan of sweet breakfasts, I had been toying around with the idea of coming up with a savory oatmeal for breakfast. Once I saw this recipe I had to give it a try. I don’t know that many of you would consider this a breakfast type recipe, but I have been eating it for a couple days now, and I think it is a great way to start out your day. The oatmeal is very hearty, and fills you right up. After eating this I know I won’t have to worry about feeling hungry in an hour. This recipe is definitely a great healthy lunch or dinner. Prep and cook time for this recipe is very minimal. You can have it ready in about 20 minutes, which is great for one of those nights when you just don’t feel like cooking.

Savory Oatmeal with Avacado

Based on a recipe by Healthy Vegan Recipes

  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 cup mushrooms, sliced
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 zucchini, sliced
  • salt, pepper
  • 2-3 tablespoons Italian Herb Mix
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cup water
  • 1 avocado, diced

Heat a pan to medium and saute the mushrooms in olive oil. Once the mushrooms have released their juices and it has evaporated, add the onions and allow them to soften before adding the garlic and zucchini. Once the zucchini has softened slightly, sprinkle salt over the vegetables, stir and quickly cover the pan with a lid.
Once the vegetables are very soft, add the oats, pepper and herbs. Stir to season everything, then add the water to the dish. Add slowly, to make sure the oats don’t get too mushy. Leave this to soften the oats for a couple of minutes, then serve, topped with the fresh avocado and a sprinkle of black pepper.

3 thoughts on “Savory Oatmeal, what?

  1. I think this is a great idea, but I’m not sure what my vegetable tolerance would be first thing in the morning. I’m not hugely into sweets either, though… It looks so filling, which is awesome, like you said- no one is going to be hungry in an hour after eating this masterpiece!

Leave a Reply

