Sprout Spring Rolls with Peanut Dipping Sauce

I have been on the lookout for a good spring roll recipe. My boyfriend and I get these pretty tasty “spring rolls” from a chinese restaurant near by my place. So I have been looking to recreate that myself. This recipe is a healthier version of their spring rolls, but is every bit as delicious.

For this recipe I actually got my boyfriend in the kitchen, helping me out. This recipe is SUPER easy, so I figured it would be a great way to get him started cooking some tasty vegan dishes. He was in charge of the peanut dipping sauce. The sauce came out wonderfully. It was rich, garlicky and full of flavor.

I was in charge of cutting the veggies and wrapping up the rolls. I used a vegetable peeler to make thin strips. This cut down my prep time considerably. Prep for this took no time at all. And within about 15-20 minutes dinner was served.

Sprout Spring Rolls with Peanut Dipping Sauce

Based on a recipe by Easy Peasy Organic

Rolls

  • 1 bunch parsley
  • 2 carrots
  • 1-2 cups spinach
  • 1-2 zucchinis
  • small bag of bean sprouts
  • rice vermicelli
  • warm water to dip vermicelli into

Sauce

  • 3 tablespoons natural peanut butter
  • 1 tablespoon fresh ginger, grated
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 green onions, sliced
  • 1/3 cup hot water
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons agave nectar (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon hot sauce

Wash and peel carrots. Then take your vegetable peeler and make strips out of the carrots. Turn the carrot every so often until you are left with a bunch of carrot strips. Repeat this process with the zucchini (without peeling the skin off), stopping when you start hitting the seeds.

Put all the sauce ingredients into a heavy glass jar and shake till combined. The hot water should help penetrate the stickiness of the peanut butter, but if it doesn’t just use a spoon to mix everything. Add water if you need to – it should be mayonnaise-thick, not toothpaste-thick. Adjust the sauce to how you like it – more or less chili, thinner or thicker, etc.

Organize all your vegetables on a big plate or benchtop. Dip a dried rice paper roll in warm water to soften it, then roll it up around your fillings like a burrito. Don’t worry about prettiness – you’ll get better after a few! Cut in half, or don’t. And enjoy.

I posted this picture of our dinner (dessert recipe coming soon) on my Facebook page. I loved it so much I wanted to put it on my blog

6 thoughts on “Sprout Spring Rolls with Peanut Dipping Sauce

  1. I’m liking the new layout…it is new right? I’m not going crazy right?

    Also, great minds think alike! I had a wrap for lunch with a peanuty dipping sauce. Your spring rolls look fantastic!

Leave a Reply

