BBQ’d Veggies with Cilantro Lime Rice

With the approach of Memorial Day, comes outdoor activities and barbecues. I don’t have any set plans yet but I am looking forward to my long weekend.

Barbecues can have the potential to leave us vegan/vegetarians out. So I figured I would come up with a recipe that will satisfy any cravings for barbecue you might have.

I do not have a grill (sad face) but you could prepare most of the vegetables on the grill. And then toss them with some barbecue sauce before serving. I am sure this way would be absolutely delicious.

Also keep in mind you can change up the vegetables to whatever you have. This would be a great recipe to use up vegetables in your fridge. I added some Gardein BBQ Skewers, but this is completely optional.

I hope you guys have a wonderful Memorial Day weekend! And thank you to all those that risk their lives and have given their lives to protect us.

BBQ’d Veggies with Cilantro Lime Rice

  • 1 lb red potatoes, washed and cut in quarters
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 large zucchini, sliced
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 lb asparagus, fibrous ends removed
  • 1/4 cup or more, to taste, barbecue sauce (home made or store bought)
  • 1 teaspoon chile powder
  • 1 cup uncooked rice (I used white because I have a ton in my pantry. But this would work well with brown rice)
  • 2 cups water
  • 2-3 teaspoons chopped cilantro
  • juice of 1/2 a lime
  • salt, to taste
  • 1 package Gardein BBQ skewers, prepared to package directions

Place potatoes in a pot and fill with cold water until potatoes are just covered. Add a bit of salt and bring to boil. Cook until potatoes are tender.

Meanwhile, place rice and 2 cups water in a rice cooker. Add a bit of salt. And start rice cooker.

Because I didn’t have a grill I decided to roast my asparagus. To see how to I do this click here.

When potatoes are almost done, heat a large saute pan to medium heat. Add a teaspoon of olive oil. Then saute zucchini and garlic. Once zucchini is tender add potatoes and asparagus. Add barbecue sauce and chile powder. Stir to coat. Add in Gardein BBQ Skewers (skewer removed).

After rice is done cooking, transfer to a bowl. Add lime juice, cilantro and a sprinkle of salt, to taste. Gently stir to combine.

Place a couple spoonfuls of rice on plate and top with barbecued vegetables. Then enjoy!

5 thoughts on “BBQ’d Veggies with Cilantro Lime Rice

  1. If you don’t have plans and you’re making this, I’ll just come over 😉 I love cilantro rice, and I love BBQ’d veggies- they’re actually on my menu for this weekend, I’m making kabobs with seitan!

Leave a Reply

