Irish Inspired Potatoes and Cabbage

I recently made a trip to the library to find some new recipes. I found a couple vegan cookbooks (hopefully some recipes from those soon). I also ended up finding a cookbook called, “The Vegetarian 5-Ingredient Gourmet” By Nava Atlas. While this isn’t a vegan cookbook, many of the recipes give vegan alternatives. I have been a little strapped for cash lately, so I thought this cookbook would be a good way go to.

I, of course, ended up modifying this recipe. I ended up not mashing the potatoes, and added a couple ingredients. But this is still a very easy recipe with hardy results.

I would suggest roasting your potatoes to give them even more flavor!

Irish Inspired Potatoes and Cabbage

Based on a recipe by Nava Atlas

  • 1 pound small yukon gold potatoes
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 cups finely shredded cabbage (you can use coleslaw mix for a shortcut)
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 6 scallions, white and green parts, sliced
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Cook potatoes using your favorite cooking method. I just boiled mine. I wish I had roasted them. Next time.

While potatoes are cooking, heat olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add cabbage, garlic and thyme. Stir occasionally and cover until cabbage wilts.

Add in scallions and saute uncovered until cabbage begins to turn golden. If this mixture gets too dry, add a little bit of water.

Add in potatoes and stir to combine. Season with salt and pepper and serve.

One thought on “Irish Inspired Potatoes and Cabbage

Leave a Reply

