Cashew Sesame Noodles with Stir Fried Vegetables

Lately I have been lacking inspiration. I am cooking just to have something to eat. This has been an odd place for me to be because normally I am inspired by everything I see. Normally I will be online looking at recipes and get inspired to make a million different things. This hasn’t been the case lately, until yesterday.

I have been making my own nut milk lately, and I was talking to my friend Jacob about this. We were talking about making a raw cookie out of the left over “nut pulp” (for lack of a better term) from the nut milk I have been making. This conversation kind of lit a spark in me. And all of a sudden inspiration was coming from everywhere again.

I was really in the mood for something light and fresh. I wanted to use rice noodles also (one of my random cravings). I try to make recipes mostly using what I have. So when I go to the store I only have to buy a couple things. I had some cashews left over from making cashew milk, so when I saw a recipe for cashew sauce, I knew what I wanted to make.

This recipe is super easy, and quick to prepare. The cashew sesame sauce is creamy and matches perfectly with the crunchy vegetables. The cilantro and scallions on top add a really fresh bright note to every bite.

However, if you can find thicker rice noodles I would use those. The thin rice noodles tangled together a bit. But there is a special place in my heart for delicious messy food 😉

Cashew Sesame Noodles with Stir Fried Vegetables

  • 2 large garlic cloves, chopped
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 1/4 cup sesame oil
  • 3/4 teaspoon dried hot red pepper flakes
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 cup salted roasted cashews
  • 1/3 cup water
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 pound stir fry frozen vegetables (pictured below)
  • 1 pound rice noodles
  • 1/2 cups loosely packed cilantro, chopped
  • 1 bunch scallions, chopped
  • salted roasted cashews, chopped, to garnish

To make sauce, in a blender, blend first 8 ingredients with salt and pepper, to taste, until smooth.

Bring sauce to room temperature, or prepare and chill in fridge.

Heat a skillet to medium high heat. And stir fry vegetables until cooked to your liking.

Meanwhile, cook noodles according to package directions.

Toss noodles with sauce and top with stir fried vegetables, cilantro, scallions and chopped cashews.

Can be served at room temperature or slightly warm.

3 thoughts on “Cashew Sesame Noodles with Stir Fried Vegetables

Leave a Reply

