Chocolate Cherry Banana Soft Serve

It has been hot here in Colorado! And to top it off my AC has been broken. :/ Don’t get me wrong, I love summer! I am just not a fan of melting in my apartment. To battle the heat I have been looking for a sweet, healthy and cold treat. My heat prayers were answered when I found Green Lite Bites’ recipe on youtube (video posted below).

This is a healthy treat that can easily satisfy a craving for ice cream. You get the ice cream like flavors with no added fat or sugar. You are just eating blended up fruit and cocoa powder.

When you take a bite you get a luscious chocolate cherry flavor with a very subtle banana flavor. While this is a decadent dessert it is still light and refreshing.

This soft serve definitely cooled me down. Warning: Do not eat this too fast or you will give yourself a brain freeze. I speak from experience! Enjoy!

Chocolate Cherry Banana Soft Serve

Based on a recipe by Green Lite Bites

  • 1 ripe frozen banana, sliced
  • 1-2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • couple tablespoons nut milk
  • 1/3 cup frozen black cherries

Place banana, cocoa powder and a tablespoon or 2 of nut milk (You just need the milk to get everything moving. Don’t add too much, we don’t want this to turn into a milkshake.) in a small food processor or magic bullet. Process until everything is smooth and creamy.

Add in cherries and pulse a couple times until cherries are broken up and evenly distributed. And serve!

Here is the Green Lite Bites version:

Leave a Reply

