Spinach & Cheese Muffin

As you may or may not know, I am always on the hunt for a breakfast that isn’t super sweet. I do love the occasional muffin or waffle, but I am more of a bagel and cream cheese kind of girl. However my waist line doesn’t really allow me to eat bagels and cream cheese every morning. So I try and keep delicious baked goods as an occasional treat.

I came across the recipe for this on one of my favorite sites, FindingVegan.com. I thought this would be a quick and easy savory breakfast. These muffins have just the right amount of cheesy flavor. The scallions help to keep this muffin light and summery. They were even so good, I shoved them into Rob’s face.

Spinach & Cheese Muffins

Based on a recipe by Kirsten’s Kitchen: Of Vegan Creations

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/4 cup nutrional yeast
  • 2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon minced dried onions
  • 1 1/2 cups non dairy milk
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1/3 cup peanut oil
  • 1 flax egg (recipe I used here)
  • 1 cup fresh chopped spinach
  • 1/2 cup vegan cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 cup fresh chopped green onion

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix dry ingredients in a bowl and in a separate bowl whisk together wet ingredients.

Add wet ingredients into dry and stir until just combine. Scoop into greased muffin tin. Bake for 23-25 minutes or until lightly browned.

I wish I would have baked these a little bit longer, but they were still delicious!

5 thoughts on “Spinach & Cheese Muffin

Leave a Reply

