Sesame French Toast

Saturday morning I was looking around the kitchen for something to make for breakfast. I really wasn’t in the mood to go out to eat. I love weekend mornings where I can sit around in my pjs and eat breakfast.

I ended up finding a recipe for vegan french toast that I had all the ingredients for! I was so happy I didn’t have to go to the store.

I am not a big fan of eating french toast, waffles or pancakes with a fork. I hate how the fork gets all sticky, not matter how careful you are. You could say this is one of my many quirks. Normally I will put the syrup in a small bowl and dunk the french toast/pancake/waffle in with my hands (incase you were wondering). This recipe was sweet enough that you really didn’t even need an extra syrup, which saved my fork from stickiness!

This french toast smelled amazing! Vanilla, cinnamon and maple syrup filled the air as it cooked. The sweetness was kept in perfect balance by the sesame bread. The sesame added a more earthy nutty flavor that prevented this dish from getting too sweet. Plus it was an unexpected and nice change from white or wheat bread.

Sesame French Toast

Based on a recipe by MakeFrenchToast.org

  • 6-8 slices Ezekiel Sprouted Grain Sesame Bread
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (I used vanilla flavored, but plain would work just as well)
  • 3 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and bring together with a whisk.

Add the bread slices and allow to stand in the mixture until all the liquid has been absorbed.

Heat a non-stick fry pan over medium heat. Add a tablespoon of oil
and brown the toast on each side for approximately 2 – 3 minutes.

7 thoughts on “Sesame French Toast

Leave a Reply

