B.K.T. (“Bacon” Kale and Tomato)

I can honestly say one of the things I miss about eating meat is bacon (please don’t burn me at the stake!, kidding). I don’t miss the idea that a poor pig must suffer through life for me to eat it though. I really do miss the smoky flavor it can add to a meal. This recipe is a play on a BLT, but a much healthier one.

I had some concerns that the kale was going to be tough and chewy, since it isn’t cooked at all (I hadn’t ever had raw kale). But marinating it in a little bit of the miso dressing broke down any toughness in the kale. The miso dressing and the avocado added a great creaminess that balanced well with the smoky tempeh.

This recipe makes a great lunch or light dinner. It is really filling and gives you energy to keep your day going.

B.K.T. (“Bacon” Kale and Tomato)

Based on a recipe by Healthy.Happy.Life

Easy White Miso Dressing

  • 3 Tbsp white miso paste (fridge section – tub)
  • 3 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp agave or maple syrup (I like to use 1 Tbsp of each)
  • a few dashes black pepper
  • 1-2 Tbsp your favorite healthy-fat oil (light version: sub added oil with water!)
  • 1 tsp tahini

Place all of the ingredients in a jar with a screw on lid. Vigorously shake until there are no lumps.

Raw Kale Salad

  • 1 bunch kale
  • 2-3 Tbsp white miso dressing (above)
  • 1/2 cup red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 tomato, diced or thinly sliced
  • avocado, thinly sliced or diced

Remove kale leaves from thick stems and chop into small pieces.

Wash kale well. Rinse the kale in warm-hot water. Then drain the water and wrap some kale in a clean dish towel and spin around towel. This is a make shift salad spinner (Thank you Smasher for the tip!) Repeat until all kale is dried.

Transfer washed/dried kale to large bowl and toss with the dressing and onions.

Fold in tomatoes and avocado or add as toppings later.

Use salad in wraps, serve or store covered in the fridge until ready to serve.

Note: If you are storing kale salad in the fridge you want to use a minimal amount of dressing so that you do not make the texture soggy. You can always add more dressing when you put everything together.

Wrap or Salad (makes 4-5 wraps)

Wrap and serve or store in the fridge until ready to serve. You can serve stored wraps chilled or warm in the oven before serving.

4 thoughts on “B.K.T. (“Bacon” Kale and Tomato)

  1. That looks like a great wrap! I was always wary of raw kale, but once I learned about the whole “marinating/massaging” technique, I realized how yummy it is. I also still enjoy that smoky flavor you talked about. I have a ‘smoked applewood’ sea salt that I could add to pretty much everything I make 🙂

Leave a Reply

