Vegan Orange Chocolate Mousse

So I thought this post was going to be about going up to the mountains to see my sister’s new house, but alas I hurt my knee again while getting gas. I even hurt it right before I was going to go up there. So I guess this post will just be about this great mousse, and how it is good for drowning your sorrows (just kidding).

This mousse is super easy and delicious! I am a huge lover of the orange and chocolate combo. I took my first bite, I got a rich chocolate flavor and finished with a florally orange. It is a rich mousse, which keeps you from eating too much when you are stuck on the couch icing your knee 😉

I think this recipe is a great, quick dessert for a family get together or would be awesome for a romantic date night. I would spoon the mousse into a decorative glass and top with a little bit of orange zest.

Vegan Orange Chocolate Mousse

Based on a recipe by Sirona Sky, posted on Food.com

  • 1 (12 1/3 ounce) box tofu, silken extra firm
  • 3/4 cup dark chocolate chips, vegan
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons maple syrup, you can use cane syrup
  • 2 tablespoons fresh orange juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 pinch nutmeg
  • zest of 1 orange, reserve a little bit for decoration

Melt chocolate in a double boiler on low heat.

Put all other ingredients in the blender and blend until creamy. You will need to stop and scrape the sides a few times. But this will insure that it will be smooth.

Once the chocolate is melted, add to the blender and blend some more. This can also be done by hand after transferring orange mixture to a large bowl, whichever you prefer.

Pour in a big bowl or individual serving bowls. Refrigerate for at lest 1 hour . Serve garnished with orange rind.

Tip: I would zest orange before juicing. Makes things much easier.

9 thoughts on “Vegan Orange Chocolate Mousse

Leave a Reply

