Wilted Kale

I will start with a little bit of a life update. I found out that I completely tore the ACL in my left knee. Which means I will need to get reconstructive surgery. Because of the surgery, I will probably be lacking in the posting department.

However, since my boyfriend isn’t much of a cook (yet) I have been making a bunch of easy to store and reheat recipes. So when he is taking care of me, he won’t have to cook much. I am hoping that I can write many of these posts before Thursday (surgery day) and post throughout my recovery.

Wilted kale is the first of hopefully many of these easy to prepare and reheat recipes. I am a big fan of kale, and getting some dark leafy greens in my diet while healing is a must. This is a simple but delicious recipe. And it very easily reheated in the microwave or on the stove top with about a tablespoon of water.

This is a great along side mac and cheese with some baked beans or a quick lunch or dinner.

Wilted Kale

  • 1 bunch of kale, stems removed and  cut into bite size pieces
  • 1/2 onion chopped
  • 1-2 cloves garlic
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • salt, to taste
  • pinch of red pepper flakes

Preheat a non-stick pot to medium heat. Add olive oil and onion. Saute until the onions are translucent. Add garlic and cook an additional 30 seconds.

Add kale. Season with salt and pepper, cover pot with a lid. Cook for about 5 minutes or until your desired donenesss.

*Remember if you want to reheat this later you might want to under cook the kale just a touch. That way when you are reheating the kale won’t be over done.

4 thoughts on “Wilted Kale

  1. Kale = good, Torn ACL = bad! I tore the MCL and meniscus in my left knee back in 2003, and although I didn’t end up having surgery I do remember what a hassle knee problems are! I hope you heal up fast! (The kale will help, ha ha!)

Leave a Reply

