Cherry Apple Butter Bread

I am back! Knee surgery went well and I have been back at work for about a week. Been in physical therapy, and getting better every day. Thank you everyone for the well wishes!

I was in need of something yummy to start out my days this week. I was rummaging through my kitchen trying to figure out what I could make. I found some apple butter (I had to put on waffles), and some frozen cherries. I figured I could make some sort of a bread out of these.

I have  to say this is a great breakfast! Easy to cut up, put in sandwich bags and take it to work. I love this bread because it isn’t too sweet. The bread itself has warm cinnamon apple flavor and every now and then you get a bite of sweet cherry to livin’ things up. Great with a cup of warm chai on a rainy cold morning. I think this would be even better if you warmed it up in a toaster oven. Mmmm 🙂

Cherry Apple Butter Bread

Based on a recipe by Happy Herbivore

  • 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • ½ cup apple butter
  • ¼ cup organic sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup plant-based milk
  • 1 cup pitted cherries, frozen

Preheat oven to 350 F.

In a large bowl, combine flour, cinnamon, ginger, baking soda and baking powder together.

In a separate bowl combine apple butter, sugar, extract and non-dairy milk and mix until just combined,

Add wet ingredients to dry and stir until just combine. You add a little extra non-dairy milk, if necessary.

Gently fold in cherries, transferring to a greased or non-stick 9×9 pan. And bake 30-35 minutes or until an inserted tooth pick comes out clean.

*If you would like this bread to be sweeter you can add 1/4 cup of brown sugar to the wet ingredients.

10 thoughts on “Cherry Apple Butter Bread

Leave a Reply

