Vegan Wonton Soup

So whenever my boyfriend and I get chinese food, I always get stuck without any soup. And I miss my soup! So I decided I would make my own.

This isn’t traditional wonton style soup. But I think it hits all the same notes. And it is pretty quick and easy. The dumplings are light but packed full of flavor. The broth brings everything together. I would suggest adding some veggies to the broth to make it a bit more substantial. I didn’t this go around because I was making cupcakes at the same time, and I was starving!

Basically I made the Chinese Dumplings with Tofu and Chives by One Happy Table and added them to some vegetable stock. So thanks for the awesome recipe Lauren!

Vegan Wonton Soup

  • 12-16 wontons/dumplings (recipe here, I admit I cheated and used vegan wonton wrapper instead of making my own dough)
  • 4-6 cups of your favorite vegetable stock or broth
  • 1-2 cloves minced garlic

Warm broth and garlic on the stove while preparing wontons. You could also add some vegetables to the broth. Carrots and mushrooms would be awesome in this.

After wontons/dumplings are finished; ladle broth into serving dish and add wontons/dumplings. Eat immediately. This great along side some vegan fried rice or vegan lo mein.

7 thoughts on “Vegan Wonton Soup

  1. Fabulous! Thanks for the shout-out and your soup looks amazing. Adding shiitakes to the broth (as you suggested, along with carrots) would deepen the flavor quite nicely. You can also add in a couple splashes of soy sauce to the broth to flavor it.

    • If you do let me know what you think! I am totally going to try and make it again. Maybe add something to deepen the broth’s favor.

Leave a Reply

