Liebster Award and Potato Tacos with Black Beans and Cilantro Jalapeno Sauce

liebster-blog-award1First of all a HUGE thank you to Jennie at Vegan Bellyfull for the nomination! 😀

LIEBSTER AWARD

1. Add the award icon to your blog!

2. Link to your nominator to say thank you.

3. Each blogger should post 11 facts about themselves.

4. Answer the questions the tagger has set for you, & create 11 questions for your nominations to answer.

5. Choose 11 up-and-coming bloggers with less than 200 followers, go to their blog, and tell them about the award.

Facts About Me

  1. I am a very adventurous eater. If you put it in front of me (no matter how weird, but it must be vegan) I will at least try it, if not eat it all of it.
  2. I am the oldest of 3 children. I have 2 sisters. One of which will be getting married in about a year. Congrats Tasha!
  3. I will be participating in the 269 Life Solidarity Day (Dec. 18th, 2012). I will be getting a 269 tattooed on my ear.
  4. I have a love affair with pretty much anything pickled.
  5. My favorite things to do are make art and cook.
  6. I am working with a group of friends to produce a couple different cooking shows. I may even have my own cooking show soon. The show will probably be a vegan dessert show.
  7. I would love to own my own food truck or cupcake shop someday.
  8. I would love to visit and possibly live in Australia.
  9. I would love to go skydiving.
  10. I have 2 metal plates, 14 screws and a wire all in my left elbow from when I broke is snowboarding when I was 17.
  11. I am a huge outdoory person. I love to hike, bike, camp or anything else outside.

The answers to Vegan Bellyfull’s questions

  1. If you were given an expenses paid holiday to the destination of your choice, where would you go and what would you eat once you got there? I would go to Australia! I would try every kind of local food that would fit in my mouth. So I suppose that would have to include Vegemite.
  2. How would you describe the style of food you like to make? I dunno if I really have a style. I just try to make things that sound delicious, and are sometimes outside the box.
  3. What is your favourite cook book? I don’t really use cookbooks anymore. But if I had to pick I would probably say The Culinary Arts Institute Cookbook. It isn’t vegan, but has a ton of basic recipes that have helped me grow as a cook.
  4. What is your number one never-fail recipe? Stir fry. It always turns out tasty and is always satisfying. Plus once you do the prep work, it is so easy to make.
  5. What kitchen equipment couldn’t you live without? Food processor. I use it for sauces, smoothies, soups, and just about anything else I can make up an excuse for.
  6. What kitchen equipment do you lust after? Pasta attachment for my kitchen aid. If you had asked me a month ago, I would have said a gas stove. But the place my boyfriend and I moved to had a gas stove! 🙂
  7. Do you have a favourite vegetable? Olives or artichokes. Mmmm. I also love broccoli.
  8. Do you have a favourite dessert? Cupcakes! I also love pie.
  9. Is there any food you really can’t stand? Cucumbers! To me they taste like soap. I love pickles, but can’t stand cucumbers, lol
  10. Dream dinner party guests? Probably family and friends, members from a couple of my favorite bands, and The Vegan Zombie.
  11. Nightmare dinner party guests? I guess I would say Larry the Cable Guy. He annoys me. And anyone that would be rude to my guests or trash my house.

My Nominees (I had a hard time telling if some of these had more than 200 followers. So if they did, sorry!)

Asian Vegan Eats

The Vegan Cookbook Aficionado

Veganmonologue

Raw and Vegan Life

More Than Greens

Emily Cooks Vegan

Things That I Ate That I Loved

Becca’s Green Kitchen

The Vegan Kat

Honey For The Bees

Healthy Hypocrite

My Questions:

  1. If you could only eat one food/dish for the rest of your life what would it be?
  2. How old were you when you first started cooking?
  3. What is the first dish you remember cooking?
  4. What inspired you to write a blog about food?
  5. What food or dish best reflects your personality?
  6. If you could eat at any restaurant in the entire world, which one would it be?
  7. Is there any food you want to try and make, but you are too scared to try it? If so, what is it and why?
  8. What food(s) are you addicted to?
  9. In your opinion what is the most overrated and underrated food?
  10. What is your favorite kitchen/cooking tip?
  11. Favorite thing about yourself.

Wow this is going to be a long post! At least there are some delicious potato tacos waiting for you at the end right? Recipe time!

These are hands down the best tacos I have ever made! The combination of the roasted crunchy potatoes with the creamy cilantro jalapeno sauce and the fresh lettuce and tomato, is enough to make anyone’s mouth water. There are so many layers to this dish. I honestly couldn’t get enough of these tacos, until I had to loosen my belt up a notch, lol.

This is a really simple recipe that applies a couple techniques. The recipe may look long, but overall doesn’t take that long. And a little bit of effort is worth it to eat some amazing tacos, right?

Potato Tacos with Black Beans and Cilantro Jalapeno Sauce

Potatoes

  • 2-3 large potatoes, cut into bite size pieces
  • 1-2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Mix potatoes, oil and spices together in a bowl and spread out, in a single layer, on a baking sheet. Make sure to grease the baking sheet so that nothing sticks.

Bake for 40-50 minutes, until potatoes are browned and crispy.

Black Beans

  • 1 tablespoon olive or coconut oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 14oz can black beans, drained and rinsed

Heat oil in skillet on medium low heat. Add in onion and a pinch of salt. Saute until onions are lightly browned.

Once onions are lightly browned, add in black beans. Saute until beans are warm. Mash beans with a rubber spatula, until beans are a rough paste.

Cilantro Jalapeno Sauce

  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and peeled
  • 14oz package silken tofu
  • 1 tablespoon smoked paprika
  • 1 teaspoon cumin seed
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 3-5 tablespoons unsweetened milk alternative
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tablespoon to 1/4 cup cilantro, depending on how much you like

Char outside of jalapeno either on a gas stove top or in the oven under the broiler. After you have blacken the outside of the pepper place in a paper lunch bag and allow to steam for about 10 minutes so it will be easier to peel.

Peel and seed the roasted jalapeno (if you like a lot of heat, you can leave some of the seeds in, if you like less heat, add only a little of the chile).

Add silken tofu, jalapeno, spices, and milk (start with 3 tablespoons, add more if you like the sauce thinner) into a food processor or to a blender and process until smooth and delightfully creamy.

Season to your taste with salt and pepper. Add in cilantro and process for another minute until everything is incorporated.

Tacos

  • 6-8 Corn tortillas
  • Roasted Potatoes
  • Black Beans
  • Cilantro Jalapeno sauce
  • Lettuce
  • Tomato

Heat corn tortillas on the stove top or in the oven. Once tortilla is heated, smear on some black bean mixture. Top with potatoes, lettuce, tomato and some of the cilantro jalapeno sauce. Serve immediately and enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Liebster Award and Potato Tacos with Black Beans and Cilantro Jalapeno Sauce

Leave a Reply

