Seaweed Salad

The family got together this past weekend to have dinner for my little sister’s birthday. She decided she wanted to go get sushi. This was perfect for me, because it is easy to order sushi vegan, and there are a TON of options.

I ordered a seaweed salad and a asparagus roll. I had a happy and full tummy. Plus I got to spend a afternoon/evening with some of my favorite people on the planet. When I got home, I was really motivated to make my own seaweed salad. So here it is!

Seaweed Salad

Based on a recipe by Foodista

  • 1 ounce assorted dried seaweed or wakame
  • 1/4 cup scallions, minced
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon mirin (or raw sugar)
  • 1/2 tablespoon dark sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon toasted white and black sesame seeds

Rinse the seaweed and soak until it has increased 10x in size, about 5 minutes. Gently squeeze to remove excess water. Sort out any hard bits and chop. Put pieces in a bowl.

Toss with the scallions, soy sauce, vinegar, mirin (or sugar), and sesame oil. Taste and add seasonings as needed. Garnish with sesame seeds.

One thought on “Seaweed Salad

  1. Pingback: Seaweed Salad | 365 Days of Vegan Food

Leave a Reply

